Doors Open Day for central Fife, which brings an opportunity to explore buildings not normally open to the public, is on Sunday 9 September. West Fife’s day is on Sunday 16 September. Most of the buildings have stories to tell and many have more historical significance than passers by probably realise. In 1601 King James VI of Scotland held the General Assembly within the walls of Burntisland Parish Church (pictured above) and granted the new translation of the Holy Bible. Unusually, the church is square shaped and features an outside stone stair built to enable fisherman worshippers to slip out and catch the tide.
The attractive village of Dysart, once known as ‘Little Holland’ because of its trading links with the Netherlands, has a number of buildings participating including the Harbour Master’s House (above) – which has a cafe – and the Town Hall (left). Once a laundry for the Carmelite Monastery, Kirkcaldy Art Club is also opening its doors. The Club bought the building in 1970 for £150 – visitors will be able to see the painters’ studio and pottery. Sisters from the monastery will be at St Serf’s Caves to answer visitors’ questions about the Saint who is believed to have used the cave as a retreat in the 6th century. If ancient history is not your thing then there’s Kirkcaldy Fire Station, Lathalmond Vintage Bus Museum and Kinghorn Lifeboat Station.
Doors Open Days Fife 2012
Central Fife includes Burntisland, Kirkcaldy and Glenrothes – Sunday 9 September
West Fife includes Dunfermline and Charlestown – Sunday 16 September.